Old Buckenham CC win The Club Project of the Year

Old Buckenham CC win The Club Project of the Year

Old Buckenham CC win The Club Project of the Year at the Brit Insurance Chance to Shine annual achievement awards

Cricket volunteers, coaches, clubs and schools from throughout the country were recognised for their contributions to cricket and Chance to Shine at the Brit Annual Achievement Awards held at the Kia Oval last week (10 October).

The Brit Insurance Annual Awards recognise and reward the outstanding work volunteers do to make the ‘Chance to Shine’ programme the success it is. The winners rubbed shoulders with some of the greats of the game during the evening including England Captain Alastair Cook, Chris Tremlett, Jade Dernbach and Heather Knight, who are Chance to Shine ambassadors.

Old Buckenham Cricket Club run one of 10 projects in the County and were recognised in the category ‘ Club Project of the Year ‘ scooping the prestigious award. The project was run and administered by Club stalwarts Chris Dalton and Mike Banham who are pictured together with England cricketers  Alastair Cook, Jade Dernbach & Chris Tremlett together with Norfolk Cricket Development Officer Kevin Denmark and Emma Hardy, Norfolk Cricket Board project manager.

Chance to Shine has brought cricket and its educational benefits to 7,000 state schools and has educated over two million children through cricket since it launched in 2005 underpinned by The Cricket Foundation. One of it’s founders Mark Nicholas hosted the evening and explained to the audience how the idea has grown since inception to what it is today.

Kevin Denmark said ‘ this is fantastic recognition for Old Buckenham who have really embraced the Chance to Shine programme and the award is thoroughly deserved. This on the back of the recent success of Alex Havers, Dersingham CC at the National OSCA’s makes it an excellent couple of weeks for Norfolk Cricket rounding off a great year ‘


See the official winners video on YouTube at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwWJLzHZ_JA


< Return to previous page