Norfolk Youth Cricket End of Season Dinner & Presentation 2015

Norfolk Youth Cricket End of Season Dinner & Presentation 2015

Norfolk Youth Cricket End of Season Dinner & Presentation 2015

(Trophy Winners At Bottom of The Page)

Once again the end of season presentation evening was a resounding success with over 270 people cramming into the Mecure Hotel in Norwich courtesy of the excellent organisational skills of Mel Taylor and her team to whom we are very grateful.

Compares for the evening were Neil Taylor, Chris Brown and Steve Goldsmith who kept the evening on track. Background music, walk-on music and award music was used for the first time and this really added to the evening creating a nice atmosphere for all involved.

The programme for the evening followed the traditional pattern with two rounds of heads and tails either side of the main course and dessert. Each CAG manager/coach then came up to the stage to give their end of season report.

Mick Ollerton (U15 Manager) gave his final CAG speech as his age group now move past the U15’s. Likewise Adrian Blumfield (U10 Manager) is stepping away from management of his age-group after 3 years in the job. The NCB & NYC would like to thank both Mick & Adrian for all their efforts working within the CAG system.

A special presentation was made during the evening to Paul Newman for his services to Norfolk Cricket, Norfolk Youth Cricket & Norfolk County Cricket Club. Having lived in Norfolk for the past 19 years he is now seeking a new challenge in Worcestershire where he will work once again with the CAG players. Paul made his final speech at the dinner and then David Browne (NCB vice-chairman) came up on stage to read a few words about Paul’s career as a first-class player, a player in Norfolk and latterly his coaching in and around Norfolk before inviting him to accept a special gift on behalf of the NCB, NYC & NCCC. Everyone wishes Paul all the best in his new career and he will be sorely missed within the CAG programme.

The presentations followed the speeches with awards including individual caps for each age group, awards for centuries and 5 wicket hauls during the 2015 season, individual performance of the year 2015, girl’s player of the year 2015 and announcements of the 2015 – 16 Centre of Excellence and Emerging Player intakes.

The presentations concluded with announcement of the prestigious Louis Brooks Memorial Trophy winner and presentation to the winner.

Louis was a prominent County Age Group and Club cricketer until his untimely death from cancer in 2005 at the tender age of just 19. The family donated this trophy in his memory which is presented on an annual basis at the dinner and we were delighted that his father Ross was present, together with his son Aaron to make the award. Previous winners include Jaik Mickleburgh, Sam Arthurton, Ryan Findlay, Olly Stone, Robert Newton, Lewis Denmark, Callum Taylor, Matthew Taylor & William Rogers.

The 2015 award was presented by Aaron after previous winner Matthew Taylor gave a speech about the player about to receive the award stating exactly why the 2015 winner deserved to win the award. For his contribution to Norfolk Youth Cricket from U10’s right through to U17’s this player has had an excellent career with the bat and more recently with the ball. But he is more known for his outstanding wicket-keeping throughout his age group career, Matthew believed his was the most naturally gifted wicket-keeper he has ever played with and this was backed up with the fact he would regularly play at least 1 age-group up and sometimes even two or three because he was ahead of so many with the gloves. The 2015 winner was Sam Hunt.

Louis Brook Memorial Trophy Winner 2015
– Sam Hunt (U 17’s
Girl’s Player of the Year 2015
- Beth Harmer (U15's) (Picture Below with Neil Taylor & Peter Free)
Performance of the Year 2015 – Ben Wilcox (U 11’s) (Picture Below with Kier Houdsome)



Clike HERE to view the EPP & COE intakes for 2015/16


100's During 2015 Season
5-Wicket Hauls During 2015 Season
Player  Score
Player Figures
Ben Wilcox 122   Chris Read (6-29)
Alex Levinson 108   Georgina Dunkinson (5-8)
Beth Harmer 107   Louis Hart (5-12)
Kieran Peters 102   Jonah Wicks (5-14)
Sam Hunt 100   George Angier  (5-33)
          George Angier  (5-40)
          James Hardy  (5-15)


2015 CAG Cap Winners
CAG Players

U10 Jayden Borges James Cross Charlie Hood Ethan Metcalf

Ben Panter Freddie Royal    
U11 Ben Wilcox Charlie Barber    
U12 Daniel Bint Louis Hart Nathan Shaw Zach Taylor
U13 James Hardy George Harrad Callum Metcalf  
U14 Sam Tinkler      
U15 George Angier Oscar Binny Kieran Peters  
U17 Sam Hunt Alex Levinson Chris Read  
U13 G Caitlin Dye Holly Marchant Anoushka Williamson  
U15 G Robyn Edge Beth Harmer Lauren Hemp  


< Return to previous page