Brooke Primary School - Chance to Shine Primary School of the Year 2016

Brooke Primary School - Chance to Shine Primary School of the Year 2016

Grassroots Stars Win Recognition at National Cricket Awards

Coaches, clubs, schools, pupils and volunteers were recognised for their work promoting grassroots cricket at the Chance to Shine Annual Awards yesterday (Wednesday 2 November).

Special guests at the event, held at Lord’s Cricket Ground, included England batsman Jason Roy, Chance to Shine ambassador and former England cricketer James Taylor and Sky News TV presenter Sarah-Jane Mee who hosted the event.

The Chance to Shine Annual Awards, supported by Lycamobile, celebrated clubs, individuals and schools who help to spread the power of cricket and make the charity such a success. The winners on the night came from those involved in both the Schools and Street programmes, rewarding them for their efforts, enthusiasm and commitment to the game.

Primary School of the Year, supported by Smile Travel Group - Brooke VC Primary School, Norfolk.

Click HERE to view their winning story on YouTube.

Chance to Shine Case Study about Brooke Primary School

On first appearances, Brooke VC Church of England primary school looks an unlikely place for a successful cricket team, not least because there is no grass to play on, and the number of students sits at just 125. But thanks to great efforts from the whole school and from the wider community, facilitated by Chance to Shine, cricket is thriving, with over a quarter of students across all year groups participating, and contributing to the school’s outstanding success.

Headmaster David Robinson (Pictured right collecting the award) has been able to observe the essential work Chance to Shine carries out through its sessions on the school’s small playground area: “We’ve been able to have a coach coming in on a regular basis to build the childrens’ skills and enable them to play at a standard that they can be proud of.”

Crucially, the school has also received support from the local Brooke & District Cricket Club, which has been happy to help in any way they can. Club skipper Rob Panter says: “We are delighted at the cricket club that they can use the facilities, use the playing fields, and use the nets. We’ll continue to support them.” Norfolk County Cricket Board coach Kevin Denmark adds: “This is one of the best examples I’ve ever seen of a club working in tandem with a school.”

The school team has scaled great heights this year. They progressed through the regional competition to the county finals where they fell four agonising runs short of being crowned county champions. And most importantly of all, the children are loving it. Year 6 pupil Jake captures it best: “It’s kind of like a big family, happy and friendly.”

Other 2016 Award Winners (Click on the link at the bottom of the page to find out about all the winners)

Project of the Year Award - Camden Street

Young Leader of the Year Award, supported by Smile Group Travel - Muskan Ratti

County Cricket Board of the Year
- Bedfordshire

Satellite Club of the Year, supported by Sport England
- Cherwell School, Oxfordshire

MCC Teacher of the Year - Stuart Elsworth, St Christopher’s Primary School, Liverpool

Participant of the Year, supported by Sport England - Elsa Barnfather, Simon Balle All-through School, Hertford

Inspirational Cricketer of the Year
- Joe Root

Coach of the Year - Saba Nasim

Lycamobile Special Recognition Award - Paul Cook, Robert Clack School, Dagenham

Lycamobile Special Recognition Award - Carlton Bolling College Girls’ Cricket Team, Bradford

pdf Chance To Shine Stories - 2016.pdf

< Return to previous page