Great Ellingham Claim Breckland Indoor League Title 2017

Great Ellingham Claim Breckland Indoor League Title 2017

Great Ellingham Claim Breckland Indoor League Title 2017

Great Ellingham Cricket Club have won the Breckland Indoor Cricket League for the first time after successfully beating Hingham in the semi-final and Garboldisham in the final during our 2017 Finals Evening at Thetford Leisure Centre on Sunday 17th December 2017.

Having qualified for Finals evening after finishing in 2nd place in Group B with victories against Garboldisham and Thetford but defeats to Old Buckenham and Mundford, Gt Ellingham were seen to be the underdogs going into Finals evening.

The first semi-final of the evening saw Great Ellingham take on Hingham, who made the semi-finals in their first year of the competition. Great Ellingham took the victory by a comfortable margin of 31 run, largely due to a superb final over from Great Ellingham seamer, Aslan Mohammed who took 5 wickets for 3 runs in the final over.

The second semi-final saw Bradenham take on Garboldisham in what was probably the game of the tournament. Bradenham were asked to bat first and immediately were into their stride scoring runs at will and not losing any wickets. Despite losing a couple of wickets in the final pair including a wicket of the final ball of the innings they set Garboldisham 289 runs to win. In reply Garboldisham found scoring fairly easy and Bradenham were not helped by only having 5 fielders. Despite this, the game was always very tight and it was never clear who was going to come out on top. So it came down to the final over and 15 runs needed to win. There were 14 runs scored from the first 5 balls which meant the scores were tied going into the final ball. As Garboldisham had lost 1 less wicket they knew anything other than a wicket would see them progress. A dot ball followed despite one of the closest run out calls you are likely to witness and Garboldisham won by virtue of losing less wickets in a scores tied match.

The final saw Garboldisham and Great Ellingham battle it out. Garboldisham batted first and set 277/9 (232). Great Ellingham bowled very well with Seamer Aslan taking a further 3 wickets in his first over completing a spectacular 8 wickets in 10 balls during the evening. Great Ellingham replied well with the bat finishing on 254/3 (239) and taking the overall victory.

Once again the 2017 competition has been a huge success. It’s included 9 teams across 2 groups and 2 venues. The entertainment levels increase every year alongside the standard of cricket being played. The NCB are already looking ahead to the 2018 competition.

Finals Evening Scores

SF 1 - Great Ellingham 270/7 (Net 235) Beat Hingham 245/9 (Net 200) by 35 Runs
SF 2 - Bradenham 303/3 (Net 288) Lost To Garboldisham 198/2 (Net 288) by Less Wickets Lost
Final - Garboldisham 277/9 (Net 232) Lost To Great Ellingham 254/3 (Net 239) by 7 Runs

Competition Roll of Honour

2013 - Old Buckenham CC
2014 - Garboldisham CC
2015 - Bradenham CC
2016 - Old Buckenham CC
2017 - Great Ellingham CC

< Return to previous page