Jane Hannah appointed Norfolk Cricket Board Interim Chair

22nd December 2021

Keir Hounsome will stand down as Norfolk Cricket Board (NCB) chair at the end of December after 16 years of outstanding service with current Board director Jane Hannah taking on the role of interim chair.

A countrywide governance review by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) impacting all County Cricket Boards has meant a restriction has come into force for the period Board directors can serve.

As a result, five NCB directors, including current chair Keir Hounsome, are leaving the Board after many years of distinguished service. David Browne and John Chilvers have recently stood down, and Mike Banham and Chris Brown will finish at the end of December. Keir Hounsome finishes his term as a director at the end of January.

Mike Banham was appointed to the Board in 2004 with Keir Hounsome joining in 2005. Both David Browne and Chris Brown joined the Board in 2006 with John Chilvers being appointed in 2017.

Following a period of open advertising earlier in the year, a Special General Meeting was held in October and saw three new directors appointed. The Board’s Safeguarding Officer Liz Plater was appointed as Safeguarding Lead Director. Stuart Bartram, current Swardeston Chair and Mark Scott, of Great Melton CC, were also appointed as Board directors.

The Board are working closely with the ECB and Perrett Laver on a pilot scheme to fill the remain Board director positions. Perrett Laver are Sport England’s preferred recruitment partner and are working with the Board to help find and appoint diverse, skilled and committed directors.

With Keir standing down, the Board is looking to recruit a new chair. The Board are delighted to announce that existing Board director Jane Hannah has agreed to take on the role of Chair on an interim basis until June 2022 with a recruitment process beginning in Spring for a permanent chair.

Jane will become only the fourth female to Chair one of the 39 County Cricket Boards across England and Wales.

Current Board directors Ian Doy, Paul Hooton and Mike Hanby (Norfolk CCC representative) remain in post along with NCB Cricket Development Director Lewis Denmark and NCB Secretary, David Bowker.

The new-look NCB has this month held a strategy away day to consider priorities for 2022 and beyond.

Keir Hounsome said: “It’s been an absolute privilege to serve Norfolk cricket and amazing to think back on how the work and role of the Board has developed over the last 15 years. And I want to thank the Board’s staff, fellow Directors, the army of volunteers and everyone else involved in Norfolk cricket who have helped to make my role so enjoyable and rewarding. I wish the Board the very best for the future.”

Jane Hannah said: “I am really looking forward to taking on the position of chair for the board on an interim basis initially. This is a great opportunity to continue the hard work and dedication from Keir to support cricket in Norfolk to move to its next chapter. Having spent eight years working at the ECB in a variety of roles including leading the volunteer strategy, increasing adult participation and in my final few years developing the initial South Asian engagement plan I am excited to drive diversity across the game in our wonderful county.”

Lewis Denmark, NCB Cricket Development Director, said: “There is no doubt that Keir will be missed by everyone connected to Norfolk Cricket. His drive and commitment to improving cricket in Norfolk over the last 15 years has been incredible and he leaves the Board in a healthy position. I’m really looking forward to working with Jane and the other Directors over the coming months as we strive to further develop cricket in Norfolk over the period of the ECB Inspiring Generations strategy.”


For more information please contact one of the following:

Jane Hannah
t: 07776 445500
e: jane.hannah@norfolkcricket.co.uk

Lewis Denmark
t: 07826856359
e: lewis.denmark@norfolkcricket.co.uk

Stuart Bartram
t: 07714 126337
e: stuart.bartram@brandexinsight.co.uk