Norfolk Youth Cricketers Celebrated at Annual Awards Evening

20th October 2022

The annual Norfolk Youth Cricket Dinner and Presentation evening took place on Friday 14th October for the first time since 2019.

The celebration event saw over 280 people pack into the Holiday Inn next to Norwich Airport which included a sit down dinner followed by the annual awards giving.

The dinner bought together players, parents, sponsors and invited guests from all of the boys, girls and ladies representative teams.

The most prestigious award is the Louis Brooks Memorial Trophy and was award to Ethan Metcalf. Ethan represented the Norfolk U18 Boys and went on the make his debut for Norfolk CCC during the 2022 season which included scoring a 100.

Caroline Nunn was awarded the Derek Cousins Memorial Shield for outstanding services to Norfolk Youth Cricket. Caroline has managed the U18 Boys for the last few seasons but is now standing down as her son has moved out of the programme.

Sam Reynolds was awarded the Maurice Sills Memorial Trophy which is awarded to the Boys Players of the Season. Sam was joint leading run scorer across all of the age-groups with 628 runs at an average of just under 50.

Niamh Rushton was awarded the Friends of Norfolk Youth Cricket Trophy which is awarded to the Girls Player of the Season. Niamh was second leading wicket taker across all age groups this summer and also made her U18 and Women’s debut during the season.

Finley Spinks was awarded the Derek Cousins Performance of the Year Trophy for his 101 not out from 89 balls for the Norfolk U10’s vs Suffolk U10’s at Frettenham CC where they won the game off the final ball chasing 195.

May Drinkell was awarded Ladies Player of the Season for her consistent performances with bat and ball throughout the season. May also spend the summer representing the Sunrisers.

A list of the individual cap winners can be found below.

XX Cricket U10 Boys – Finlay May                            

Gresham’s U11 Boys – George Fawkes, Nicholas King & Luke Burrows                      

Yellow Brick Mortgages U12 Boys – Charlie Davies, Thomas Bush, Oliver Longdon, Willam Carter & Charlie Sexton

Orchard Homes U13 Boys – J C Malherbe, Hayden Lough & Kieran Cook                 

Lovewell Blake U14 Boys – Kantam Anish Reddy, Will Panter & Archie Chipperfield             

NFU Mutual U15 Boys – Sam Reynolds, Lewis Reeder, Thomas Robson & Lawry Williams  

Ashton’s Legal U16 Boys – Enoch Uthayarajan & Jack Livermore                                 

Martin Law Commercial Vans U18 Boys – Jayden Borges, Jonah Wicks, Cameron Graveling, Elliott Hart & Ethan Metcalf

FoNYC U11 Girls – Rae Davies, Isobel Sexton & Genevieve Horsley                            

Thetford Grammar School U13 Girls Blaze – Megan Sims

Thetford Grammar School U13 Girls Jets – Georgia Demetriou, Ellie Rowley, Olivia Marjoram & Amelie Horsley     

Ronaldsons Solicitors U15 Girls – Niamh Rushton & Grace Hanworth-Knights

Caroline Nunn & Kevin Denmark
Laura Reynolds & Richard Jefferson (Sam unable to be present)
Niamh Rushton & Peter Free

Finley Spinks